CLK's Past & Present Earn State Honors

On December 6, 2023 CHS Band Instructor, Mr. Ryan Watt was awarded the MSBOA Teacher of the Year Award. Mr. Watt has been a dedicated member of the CLK staff since 2016. Under his direction the CLK Band Program has flourished, and continues to earn the distinction of "The Pride of the Keweenaw". We are very proud of Mr. Watt and our band, and happy to see their many successes recognized with such a great award.

On February 1, 2024 retired CHS Assistant Principal and Athletic Director, Mr. Sean Jacques was announced as the 2024 MHSAA's Charles E. Forsythe Lifetime Achievement Award. Forsythe Award recipients are selected each year by the MHSAA Representative Council, based on an individual's outstanding contributions to the interscholastic athletics community at the local, regional, and statewide levels.
Under Mr. Jacques' leadership the district added six (6) athletic teams, multiple facility upgrades including a turf football field and an additional gymnasium, the first U.P. district to join the MHSAA broadcast program, established the CHS Athletic Hall of Fame, earned the Michigan Exemplary Athletic Program honor from the Michigan Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association, served on the MHSAA Representative Council, served as a regional leader for U.P. Athletic Directors, and much more. Mr. Jacques will be presented the award during the MHSAA Girls Basketball Finals on March 23. We are extremely grateful to Mr. Jacques for his wonderful service to CLK Schools and interscholastic athletics. Congratulations on this well deserved honor!



Quick Links

Public Schools of Calumet, Laurium & Keweenaw

School Logo